Storytelling.

Alright, I never thought I’d say this, but part of me actually wants to move myself back to Kansas and just hang out there, under the wind-filled trees and the open sky, far from things like traffic and writer’s block and messy rooms.

And I say this as I sit in an airport on the way to England. Am I crazy?

I enjoy going on vacation because I get to live on less for a little while, and it’s nice to live this simply.

20140627-002227-1347271.jpg

20140627-002246-1366626.jpg

Like on the second-to-last day there, I got thirty minutes all to myself just to sit under this gazebo and draw and listen to music and worship a little. When do I just chill out for the sake of chilling out at home?

I’ve especially been more inspired to create and dream and inspire and all that artsy jazz by being here. I’ve already learned a ton about the writing world and feel confident that I can blunder my way into the professional writing world with at least a vague idea of what to do.

Interestingly enough, many of the seminars I sat in on this past week were very applicable to other aspects of my life, even though it was a writing workshop – I found myself getting inspired for starting new blog projects (more on that soon!) and art projects and spiritual-living projects. And maybe a combination of those three.

I’d been wondering why I was feeling so inspired and equipped for non-writing-related things, regardless of the inevitable writerly focus the workshop had, when on Thursday night, a graphic artist/artistic director named Gabriel Valles spoke. He had worked with Daniel Schwabauer (the founder of OYAN) and so I thought he was just there as a filler. After all, he was an artist…at a writing conference…and I was skeptical.

Isn’t it great when you’re proved wrong, sometimes?

He told us about his journey first, normal stuff, etc. He mentioned that he had dropped out of college (which I found very odd, considering that he was a successful artistic director), and then he showed us the YouTube video of the song “His Daughter” (look it up if you have not because it’s quite good).

Then we discussed how this song became a phenomenon. Why? The video quality is bad, her voice isn’t the best I’ve ever heard (although don’t get me wrong, it is lovely), and the piano is just simple chords, not to mention that it was way out of tune as well. Also, it’s a song with very clear Christian themes in a world where people don’t stop to think of God, let alone cast their cares onto him. And yet it has 8 million views. Why?

She’s telling a story. With her inflection, and her expressions, and her lyrics. You can see and hear the pain and the hope, and you can relate to it. I’d like to think that those 8 million viewers felt a tug of longing for the God they were created by and for.

We’re called to do that, too. As writers, like he was trying to say, but also as artists and bloggers and singers and daughters. That’s where I found the art connection at the workshop – all of our callings are to tell the story, but it comes out in different mediums.

Now I must go fly overseas (eep), but I’ll be back. I charge you tonight to think about the story you’re telling and what you’re using to tell it.

Instagram cannot be the epitome of your story, though. Nope.

-e

Leave a Reply

