Discovering Humility

I am discovering humility.

I am discovering humility, because someone once gave me the compliment that I had a humble spirit, and I didn’t know how I felt about receiving the compliment because I didn’t know what it meant.

I am discovering humility, because someone told me that pride is man’s greatest enemy and humility man’s greatest friend.

I am discovering humility, and here is what I’ve found.

Humility is not thinking less of oneself, but thinking of oneself less. (Thank you Clive Staples:)

Humility is something God will certainly give you if you ask for it.

God giving a prideful person humility also tends to look like an assault of embarrassing moments in quick succession.

Humble is what we are when we are serving Christ or serving others.

Humility is measured by what someone does for a person who can give them nothing back.

Humility is emptying your hands of the worries, anxieties, loves, hates, and all other consuming ideas in your life and opening them for God to fill them. This is how I like to pray, with my hands cupped open, because

Humility is reading the Bible and praying, because it is an acknowledgement that God’s Words and plans are sovereign over yours. And, lastly,

Humility is surrender. All to Thee, my blessed Savior, I surrender all.

-e

Leave a Reply

